Photo Credit

Tanka Poetry – Growth and Wisdom

fountain of wisdom

helps to bring personal growth

like the three wise owls

It is the key to treasure

believe in yourself always

Tanka Poetry consists of five units, usually with the following pattern of    5-7-5-7-7 which is syllables.

The first three lines (5/7/5) are the upper phase. This upper stage is where you create an image in your reader’s mind.

The last two lines (7/7) of a Tanka poem are called the lower phase.  The final two lines should express the poet’s ideas about the image that was created in the three lines above.

Tags: ,